T Nation

Roadwork 2.0: the Comeback

8weeksout.com/2012/02/23/roadwork-2-0-the-comeback/

I thought this would make for an interesting topic. Especially since S&C experts keeping coming into this section citing studies to 'prove' that there is no point doing roadwork at all.

(I do not do roadwork at the moment but then again I'm not a professional competitor so I can get away with having decent conditioning levels from sparring and cycling. I will, however, re-introduce it at some point)

Good article, thanks for posting.

The trouble with the people who shit on roadwork is that they view it as some kind of steady state jog for 5 miles. In my view, roadwork is going for a run, not a jog, and that means pushing to cover a set distance as quickly as possible. Alternatively, something I’ve always imitated, is the way the great fighters in all the footage are never actually straight jogging for hours on end. They are running up hills, shadow boxing, running backwards, sidesteppin, bobbing, weaving, throwing in pressups etc. I think you very rarely see a top level combat athlete jogging sedately for a few miles. If they are, it’s probably just a gentle recovery run to get the muscles pumping.

on that point though

I have never seen anyone post a legit study that actually disproves the benefits of jogging

Almost every time its been someone posting a study that they think supports their opinion, but if they actually stopped to read the study it doesnt support it at all. From memory a good example of that was some really dumb selection bias by one of the T-Nation authors in one of the subsections recently.

I’m always enraged when Martin Rooney opens his mouth on the subject. “Train like a warrior!” Um, yeah, nice sales pitch. But even though I wish it was true, I don’t believe a 600lbs deadlift will have a bigger carryover to martial arts than the ability to run five miles hard.