Road To USAPL Raw Nationals

I’ve been training on and off for the last 6 years (spent 2 years total either injured or not training at all), so more like 4-4.5 years. I’m lifetime drug free, mostly because something inside me desperately wants to sing, and I’ve heard terrible things about vocals and steroids. Fuck. That.

I’m currently training for a USAPL meet in April. Yes I know “derr straps are cheating be a man”. On the same bar I’ve done 540 double overhand, without chalk. This leads me to my first tip,

1. TRAIN YOUR GRIP HARD AND OFTEN

First part of this, for me, means double overhand, chalkless warmups. I swear I’ve heard Ed Coan mention something similar. Regardless, even if, like me, you train a lot in straps, make your warmups hard. Also, I’d say you should play around with some strongman implements. I go to Global Strongman Gym in Manhattan so it’s not a problem; rolling thunder and farmers carries are a main stay in my programming. And not using straps on ANYTHING but pulls.

1. PULL MORE OFTEN
    It needn’t always be heavy, but I’d prefer it be over 80% of your 1RM. Practice makes perfect, and strength is a skill. Also most non-advanced lifters could probably get away with more frequency. I pull every 3 days. EVERY. THREE. DAYS. But I’m 19 and get half decent sleep. So yeah.

2. FRONT SQUAT
    I like to front squat.

I’ve felt that it helps my pull because it hits my glutes and upper back and keeps my upright. I like these for low reps (1-3), but I’m sure higher reps help.

1. GET YOUR HIPS CLOSE TO THE BAR
    This is physics. Reduce the distance between the wight and the fulcrums (knee and hip). Bam, science bitch.