T Nation

Risk of US Currency Devaluation

I currently have my own opinions on this, but i'll wait till we have some points for discussion. What do you personally think the current chances of such an event occuring are and WHY. What do you perceive as the implications on a personal and national level.

I'm no expert on this topic, but I think the graph above should make one a bit concerned.

I wonder if the Fed will engage in more bond buying once QE2 finishes...

Are you talking about devaluation simply through increasing the money supply?

I'm talking about an actual currency devaluation along the lines of the one that the british government enacted before the 1970's winter of discontent. The british public finances were in a similar state to the USA's, with some considerable differences of course.

There is also another risk of devaluation through external economic forces. As the money supply is increased and the value of the dollar decreased in real terms, there is the risk of US trade partners taking preference of payment in other currencies, which to an extent has already started, but if it were to become widespread would automatically start the process of devaluation due to the vastly reduced demand for USD.

The federal reserve has already denied rumours of an internal devaluation publicly. There have also been meetings between the major economic players in the world economy that have excluded the USA, reported in the british and european media. Add to that the massive rise in the gold price and the fact that several well known hedge fund managers have publicly disclosed their positions in the gold market it seems that some people think that this, or something close, is on the cards.

Oh okay. In this scenario the US Gov would simply declare the currency unit to be a fraction of its original value then?