T Nation

Rising To The Top

Beast Building
Phase 1

"Your living is determined not so much by what life brings to you as by the attitude you bring to life; not so much by what happens to you as by the way your mind looks at what happens."
- John Homer Miller

Height: 5'10
Weight 192

Bench: 285
Incline: 252
Sumo deadlift: 272
Front squat: 242
Weighted pull up: 100
Notes: My front squat and sumo deadlift tested lower than expected--I will most likely be increasing my workload on these as I progress through the program.

To maximize my post contest growth period I have decided on a no nonsense approach to muscle growth and strength training, after much mental debate I have decided to give CT's beast building the go-ahead. As a personal trainer, I have the tendency to think I can always create the most optimal workout program; especially for myself! While I have had a lot of success up to this point, I have come to understand that I am a novice to strength training and will resign my position as general manager of the universe!

As of late, I've grown increasingly fond of CT's writing and training philosophies. Calculating maxes and working within certain percentages is a fairly new concept for me; one that I'm looking forward to implementing. I'm accustomed to going all out each training session and leaving nothing in the tank. Generally, over the last couple years, I have trained legs twice a week and other body parts once a week. I have used triples sparingly over the last several years, and haven't used doubles or singles since my high school days. And, I simply have never done sumo deadlifts before. Needless to say, this program will certainly take me out of my comfort zone. In other words, it's going to be a blast!