Rippetoes and Lacking Muscle Growth/Stimulation

Hi Guys.

I’ve been training now continuously for 8 months on RIPPETOES STARTING STRENGTH and have come back to my old size at 82kg (180lbs) which I was last year (86kg, more fat) before I stopped goin gym and got food poisoning and lost it all.

My lifts are at now (5RM):

DEADLIFT: 180 kg
Bench: 106 kg
Squat: 125 kg
Row: 100 kg
Shoulder Press (A little like push press): 70kg - NOT SURE REALLY

They have gone up heaps since before, and I am stronger then I was last year even though I was bigger last year (arms and chest are quite a bit smaller now).

In the last 1-2 months, even though I did increase a little in muscular size, the weight has been constantly going up but I really havent put much muscle on, even when with around 250gram protein a day, 250-300 gram carbs, 100-150 fat. I put quite a bit of fat on in the last 1-2 months, but the muscle gain has been lackluster.

I’m thinking of switching over to a more bodybuilding oriented split:

4 days a week, way more volume. Do you think I should try this out for mass gains, and to bring up my arms, chest and calves.

Or rather should I switch to Bill Starr intermediate.

My DP shows me one month ago, but I am similar to that right now.

[quote]aurnob wrote:
Hi Guys.

I’ve been training now continuously for 8 months on RIPPETOES STARTING STRENGTH and have come back to my old size at 82kg (180lbs) which I was last year (86kg, more fat) before I stopped goin gym and got food poisoning and lost it all.

My lifts are at now (5RM):

DEADLIFT: 180 kg
Bench: 106 kg
Squat: 125 kg
Row: 100 kg
Shoulder Press (A little like push press): 90kg - NOT SURE REALLY

They have gone up heaps since before, and I am stronger then I was last year even though I was bigger last year (arms and chest are quite a bit smaller now).