2x8 Dips

Workout B:
3x5 Squats
3x5 Standing press
3x5 Bent over rows
2x8 Chinups

Done 3x a week, rotating A and B.
[/quote]

I’m 18 6’1 160 pounds very skinny and I want to get bigger, I know it won’t happen over night, but I just need a good program, I’m familiar with a lot of exercises. Even though I’ve been lifting for a while I was very lazy and wasn’t eating good/enough , so now I know why I wasn’t getting bigger, but now I’m more motivated and have access to the gym all the time, 3 days a week.

My question is : I heard a lot of good stuff about this program and everyone says don’t change it around just do it EXACTLY to get big and eat ALOT. But would it really hurt to add in some isolated exercises for triceps, shoulders, calves etc. ?

I know they are all compound exercises but can just 4 compound exercises train all the muscles, won’t I lack some places like shoulders triceps and other main groups?

It just seems like a short workout for me, but I’m not an expert

What are your guys thoughts?

I say DO NOT MESS WITH IT! I’m actually doing Starting Strength right now. You hit all the major groups with the you are referring too (minus calves) with benching, dips, military press. You could sneak in some calf work, but seriously I wouldn’t add much. The workout becomes very difficult.

-Matt

you already “messed” with it. The way ripp has it layed out is:

3x5 Squat
3x5 Bench
1x5 Deadlifts
2x8 Dips

Workout B:
3x5 Squats
3x5 Standing press
3x5 powercleans
2x8 Chinups

And lastly, you’ll be fine.

If it seems short then you aren’t doing the warm-ups as prescribed. Doing them put my SS program to about 1-1.5 hours long. Mind you that longer routines aren’t necessarily better for you, much like feeling completely wasted doesn’t always accompany a good workout.