T Nation

Review My Workout

This can be deleted if it isn’t the right section or wrong to ask here. I’ll start off with I am slowly dieting down, 24 years old 5’8 187lbs 20% body fat, and my goal is strength.

I have a shoulder impingement in both(worse in the left), I have only been lifting for about 3 years and my job is a diesel mechanic working eight hours a day. I’ve played around with different workouts SL5x5, GSLP, PTW but I’ve been using this workout I made for 4 months.

I only have 300lbs of weight, a power rack, a treadmill, a pullup bar but my basement ceiling is too low to use, no dumbells, and http://www.vigorfit.com/ which was given to me.

Mon:
Squat
270lbsx2x3-6
250 AMRAP
200 AMRAP

Strip the rack
100x3x3-6
70 AMRAP
50 AMRAP

Deadlift
300x1x6-9
270 AMRAP
240 AMRAP

Tuesday:
Everything is super sets with ranges I seemingly pulled out of my ass.

Dips 3x8-12 with Zercher holds 8 secs
Barbell Rows 3x5-7 with Glute Bridges 3x8-12
RDLs 3x8-12 with Ab rollout
Reverse Grip Bench 3x8-12 with Inverted Rows 3x8-12

Wensday: Off
Thursday: Just like Monday
Saturday: Just like Tuesday

Buy more weight, then follow a more tradtional program.

If that’s not an option, I’d recommend DUP style training and building up some crazy volume.

So an upper body as could go like this:
Set 30 minutes on a timer
Overhead press some weight
Row some weight
Pick percentages of 1RM based on the amount of reps you feel like doing (example: for a highish volume day, do something like 60% for sets of 5 at the top of every other minute)
Do as many sets as possible in 30 minutes

Have you thought of trying 20 rep squats? Perhaps you can work up to squatting 300lbs for 20 reps.

As for deadlifts, you might want to consider running them in a dynamic effort type of deal. 10 sets of 3 with 1 minute of rest or something like that.

brady’s suggestions are equally valid

but seriously though, try them 20 rep squats