Review Beginner Program

program

Hello everyone I am currently running a beginner’s program for which I would like a review. My stats are pretty bad estimated rep max 154 for bench 185 for squats and rows. I used to be an athlete and I have some experience with weights but never with nutrition. So now I was between the program I run now SL and ICF. What do you think??

Things for your time

Personally I’d take the GreySkull LP program or some version of Bill Starr’s 5x5 any day over SL or ICF’s program.

I ran SL for a long time when I was a beginner and the only lift it was any good for in my case was the deadlift. And even that was only because it’s just one set which gets hard at some point instead of continuous linear progression with steady 5x5 sets.

The program you posted looks fine.

As a small adjustment pick another tricep move as skullcrushers twice a week will murder your elbows.

As said above pick Bill starr/Madcow 5x5 over SL

1 Like

Thank you both for your answers!! So your final advice is to stop the program i run now and continue with a more strength focused one??(btw the program is from Brendan’s Tietz channel) I checked both programs Furius suggested but the only difference i find is the accessory work. So you think accessory will make me stall faster?? And my final question(maybe =P) how long should i run the beginner program??(according to strength standards maybe)??

Thank you again

Generally speaking, a tradinional 5x5 linear progression program is a very poor choice for any longer term strength gains. The only think StrongLifts for one is good for is to learn the movements and even that is done much better by GreySkull for example.