Revenge of the Sith: AngryVader's Log

A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away…

I’ve been lifting seriously for a while now. I’ve actually been lifting for most of my life, but I wasn’t serious about it when I was younger. As a kid I mainly just did lots of wrist curls because I was a drummer and baseball player.

While I’ve always been a fan of bodybuilding, I just didn’t really get into it until I was older. I did work out, but I didn’t know what I was doing.

Hell, I wasted a good year doing ridiculous crap like Power Factor Training and Static Contraction Training. Those were some bullshit routines. I did Heavy Duty for a while even.

Actually, it wasn’t until after I had a hernia when I was 24 that I got serious about training. The hernia was non weight training related (I used to have a job that involved a lot of box lifting and was a golfer at the time), but while I was recovering, I really started to read up and get back to basics.

Things had been moving along well with my training since then. I had put on about 30-40 pounds of muscle over a few years. Finally hit the 200 lb mark about 4 years ago and was as high as 210.

However, 2 years ago, I had a pretty bad back injury that set back my training for a while. Eventually, I healed and was getting back to where I was pre injury.

Just before Memorial Day, I tweaked my back again. Again, it wasn’t even in the gym. Simply just getting out of bed in the morning and my back just kind of went out.

It hurt pretty bad and I thought something was seriously wrong. Oddly, just 24 hours later, most of the pain in my back had gone away. I went to the doctor anyway and it appeared to check out fine. Just some muscle spasms.

About a week later, I notice some pretty significant pain in my left glute. I foam rolled the area, which seemed to help. I started to see a physical therapist, who said it was an issue with my pririformis.