Return Of The Athlete...

Ok, so I need some help. I am 26 years old and consider myself in “decent” shape. I lift 3-5 times per week switching on and off from full body training to do training splits i.e. I have been lifting for eight years now.

My training has evolved over the years, but I generally stick to the core lifts i.e. front squats, back squats, bench press variations, rows, pull-ups, shoulder presses etc. I consider myself to be in decent shape, but have realized (or finally admitted to myself) that my training and diet is not ideal.

To make a long story short, I have had three knee surgeries on my right knee (two ACL reconstructions and a medial meniscus repair) since the age of 18. I am three years removed from my last surgery, so theoretically everything should be functional.

Having sustained the two ACL tears, I have been scared the last five years to train a certain way and return to sports. That was until a month ago, when I decided it would be a good idea to dust off the cleats and play softball. Let’s just say it’s not going well.

After the first game, I could barely walk due to sore hip flexors, quads, and low back. I strained my quad in the second game trying to run 60 yards to first base. My body is just not doing what my mind thinks it can right now. I guess I shouldn’t be surprised seeing how I haven’t played sports in five years.

So, I am pissed. I am tired of feeling like a cripple when I am only 26. So I stand today a humbled man, finally willing to admit I need to make some changes in my training and diet if I want to regain any sort of athleticism.

As I search for a workout program, I have fallen victim to the “analysis paralysis” syndrome. Between the abundant information provided by Precision Nutrition and T-Nation, I am not sure where to start in choosing a workout.