Retro's Locker

So I’m not original with thread titles. On to the good stuff!
History: Currently a 19 year old College student, I’ve been lifting for around 2.5 years and have gone from 135 lbs at 6’1" to 179 (as of yesterday.)

I originally started lifting to get bigger and look better but I got a bit sidetracked recently. The past 6 months or so have brought some solid strength gains but little in the way of size so I’ve decided to get back on the focus of size.

The Why: As I said, I started lifting to look better and have always idolized the physique of classic and modern bodybuilders especially Serge Nubret, Dexter Jackson, and Dorian Yates. Over the past six months I’ve kept intensity and focus in the gym spot on but been a pussy in the kitchen so to say.

As a bit of a kick in the pants, this last week, with the start of classes, I was given a rather unusual assignment.

The What: For an English class, we were all asked to set a measurable goal and catalog our progress through the semester. One of the examples for the project was to get in shape and lose 15 lbs over the semester, so I thought, “why not GAIN 15 instead?”

The Goal: 16 lbs gained by late December. Added an extra 1 lb to put me at a nice even 195 if I peg the goal right on. (Not sure on the actual date for the end of the semester, but it’s approx. 17 weeks.) So that’s reasonable including the various difficulties of maintaining solid food/workout habits during the school year.

If I manage to get over the 16 lbs in that time, I’ll consider it an extra bit of success. Ideally I’d like to be around 250 lbs by the time I hit 25 or 26 years old. Of course over this time I’ll expect my lifts to go up as well but that will not be the focus.

The How - Workouts:
I will be using moderate volume and as high of intensity as I can handle for each workout. I’ll catalog what I hit each day here (of course.) The word here is body part split with a few exercises I generally use.