Results From First Bulk at 43?

Mine is a strange case, I’ve been training (heavy but irregularly) for about 20 years, due to career pressure never had my diet completely nailed down until this year, up until now just maintenance cals and protein and in all that time I’d gone up from 185 @ 20% to 243 @ 25% in 2009/10.

Am on a 1k calorific deficit, kicked protein up to 300gms and carb cycling. I have since dropped 20Ibs, and want to lean out another 20Ibs this year to settle around 200/205Ibs, and then begin my first every true bulk around Christmas. I’m all natural.

My question is this; as I’ve already gone up in lean muscle over that time, what kind of expectations should I have from my first bulk? Having just turned 43 I’m no spring chicken any more so I don’t expect 40Ibs this year, but it is the first time I’ve run 300gms protein and I D/L 160Kgs for 3x6 reps, so the work already done will hopefully count for something.

What do you think is a realistic target for 2012? 10/20/30 ??

Seriously, the more I advance over time the more I feel less inclined to ‘bulk’.

Basically what I do is 1) figure out a rough maintenance of calories, 2) create a diet that exceeds the maintenance by 200 - 300, 3) keep it consistent, eating roughly the same foods every day. After a while you’ll be intuitively meeting your daily needs.

Likely, you will be hard pressed putting on more than a couple kilos lean over the course of 12 months. No point gaining 40 lbs only to diet away 35 and find ~85% of your ‘gains’ were just fat. Know what I mean?

Might not be fun NOT seeing the scales move rapidly, but hell, you won’t feel like shit when you reach your peak weight and realise you have 3 to 4 months of hard dieting ahead of you.

My 2 cents…

[quote]Teledin wrote:

Likely, you will be hard pressed putting on more than a couple kilos lean over the course of 12 months. .[/quote]