Restart

I am not the outstanding silhouette which may be common to the T-Nation boards. I played O-line in football threw stuff in track.

This offseason I took care of my cardio and lower body strength and flexibility quite well, but my upper body lost a little, in part due to a shoulder injury.

I was recruited to play football for a little DIII school, but decided to focus on grades and save some ware on my body. I went through two-a-days, with all that jazz, and quit the day before the roster was finalized.

I was 6’5 300’lbs at the beginning of camp. Since quitting I have dropped down to about 1000 calories/day(about 50g protein and an effort to get enough vitamins) while running 5 days/week. My plan was to come back to human size.

I’ve noticed that, while fitting in to much smaller pant sizes, my shoulders are smaller.

So now for primarily cosmetic reasons, and because I might decide to throw for track, I started lifting again two weeks ago. I’m still eating no more the 1000 cal/day and my numbers show that of a beginner’s.

I am concerned because although I am as weak as I was when I first started lifting in highschool, I do not get nearly as sore anymore(although I am sore for longer). Does this mean gaining will be harder?

Also, could I be hurting my strength by lifting with such a low caloric intake?

[quote]swam wrote:
I am not the outstanding silhouette which may be common to the T-Nation boards. I played O-line in football threw stuff in track.

This offseason I took care of my cardio and lower body strength and flexibility quite well, but my upper body lost a little, in part due to a shoulder injury.

I was recruited to play football for a little DIII school, but decided to focus on grades and save some ware on my body. I went through two-a-days, with all that jazz, and quit the day before the roster was finalized.