Response to My Employee Evaluation

well, i’m looking for some help with a response to my employee evaulation. i’m police officer on the night shift, and i got dinged (again) for not writing enough tickets and making vehicle stops. last year i got told the same thing, and i wrote a rebuttal, challenging this and explaining why i thought it was stupid. (note: i readily admit to having a low number of tickets, and understand the positive effect they can have on a city’s finances.)

a little background on me: as far as my performance, i lead the shift, and have since i’ve been a police officer, with the number of calls for service i’ve repsonded to, as well as the amount of cases. what this means, when everyone else is arresting OWI’s or writing tickets or hanging around the bars staring at chicks, i’m the guy that’s driving around your neighborhood trying to catch the jerk that broke into your car.

that brings me to my second point-i lead the shift in “in progress calls,” i.e. i’m driving by a buisness and i catch somone in the act breaking in. in fact, few people on shift have never actually caught anyone doing it.

thirdly, my copnviction rate is nearly, if not at, 100% in the 7 years i’ve been a cop. this means that everyone has been convicted that i’ve arrested, or plead to a lesser charge. what that means is i’m not making BS arrests.

i could go on and on, but as citizens, what do you expect fo yuor police officers?

what would you suggest that i write?

thanks for your help…i have about a week (i think) to write my rebuttal, and i intend to makes some waves this year…

Here’s what I expect:

I wish there were more of you in my area.
It would be nice to see more than a few cops in the city care about the community.

It seems a delicate matter, or could be depending on the person reading the rebuttal.

Obviously you have extremely sound points regarding areas where your performance has been not only outstanding but is the best of anyone in your shift.