Reps/Sets and Workout Length?

I’m just starting out and I’ve been told by people to lift 3x8, 3 sets of 8 reps. Right now I’m just working out with a couple dumbbells but my workouts are very short (15-20min max) because my muscles simply begin to burn and I can no longer lift.

This must be a pretty basic question, but when should I stop? When do I know when workout time is over? When my muscles begin to burn?

Secondly, lets say I’m doing 3x8 so I start doing some curls for example. I bang out 8 curls but I can obviously go for more, do I just stop and pause and then do another 8 or do I just keep banging em repeatedly until I get to 24? How does that actually work?

Just start out slow and aim top make progress thats what its all about. I suggest picking a solid program from here like ABBH and following it

On the second question man depends there are so many ways to do things and none are wrong but yes you can do it that way and if you do all set of 8 next time up the load

Phill

Just make sure that the last set is very hard to finish,
the last two reps should be “almost” impossible.
Once you can easely do all the sets,it’s time to add more weights.

I’d have to agree with Phil. There are so many types of progressions out there and so many conflicting, yet not necessarily exclusive, opinions on how and when to increase the load.

You really just need to pick a time tested routine (there are literally hundreds on this site alone) and follow it to the letter. That means do the exercises, sets/reps, and rest periods exactly as prescribed.

My guess is that your workout structure in and of itself is lacking in some foundational areas. Especially if your workouts are only lasting 15-20 minutes.