T Nation

Repping Deadlifts

Do you guys pause for each rep as to not get the help of the bounce or do you just rep them out quickly? I have been doing 5/3/1 for a few months now and never pause when deadlifting; this is how I have always done it. I like the feeling of just pounding out the reps.

It only recently crossed my mind that I should be pausing, I fear that i'm going to hinder my progress if I keep going the way I am as it will most likely make me weak off the floor.

• It's going to be a hit to the ego because I have no doubt my rep records will be down 10-30%....

I always pause my deadlift reps, but that's partly because I feel I lose form and turn it into a round-back stiff leg when I start bouncing. However some of the best pullers touch and go their reps (Benni's 880x5 comes to mind) so as long as your form is consistent I don't think it's a problem

my form doesn't break down so that's not an issue

Both ways have their benefits. Do both. Forget about your ego; it won't get you anywhere but it will slow you down. Unless you can pull more than 1015# no one really cares... but if you pulled anywhere near that you probably wouldn't be on here asking about repping dead lifts... lol

I have done it both ways. These days I do every rep from a deadstop. I do it to keep my strength from the floor. Its harder this way, and you might lose a rep or two in comparison to a touch-and-go set, but ego wont get you anywhere in this game.

To bounce is to robb your back (and the back of your legs) of the real benefits of repping the deadlifts. Stop, setup and push with your legs, otherwise you will get hurt sooner or later.

It's called the DEADlift. Shifting heavy ass weight from a dead-stop on the ground.

That said, I can see the benefits of both.

I have tried both and I only make measurable progress when I do touch and go for reps. My form is sometimes better than the first rep. The opposite is true for in that lifting from a deadstop fucks my form up.