Rep Ranges for Growing Kids

I am 15. I’ve been lifting for about two years. I have been using higher rep ranges for all exercises. Bench Press, Chin up, deadlift, squat…

I have heard that growing kids should stick with the higher rep ranges so the joints aren’t damaged, and growth isn’t stunted. Is this true? Is there anything that I should change? or not?

exrx.net/WeightTraining/Weightlifting/YouthMisconceptions.html

I wouldn’t work with singles or doubles, but anything above that is fine, so long as FORM IS MAINTAINED.

Youth (all beginners, actually) aren’t neurologically very efficient. Your 1rm isn’t that much higher than your 3rm. Therefore, shooting for your 1rm isn’t as productive.

Perhaps more importantly, most youth are idiots, and pile more and more weight until ATTEMPTING to make the lift they hurt themselves (seen mostly with powercleans, benching, and squats).

Rippetoes is fine.

Key Points

• Stay at 3 reps and above
  • Don’t be an idiot
  • Eat.

You’re a 15 year old doing squats, deadlifts and chins…that’s pretty rare right there.

stick to higher reps and master your form and the technique of the complexe exercises,

Follow the Key Points above that Otep gave.

I started at about 14-15 years old and I work with low reps all of the time. I’ve grown from 5’7" to 6’2" and i’m 17 now. If anything weightlifting has helped me grow.

[quote]Otep wrote:
I wouldn’t work with singles or doubles, but anything above that is fine, so long as FORM IS MAINTAINED.

Youth (all beginners, actually) aren’t neurologically very efficient. Your 1rm isn’t that much higher than your 3rm. Therefore, shooting for your 1rm isn’t as productive.

Perhaps more importantly, most youth are idiots, and pile more and more weight until ATTEMPTING to make the lift they hurt themselves (seen mostly with powercleans, benching, and squats).

Rippetoes is fine.

Key Points

• Stay at 3 reps and above
  • Don’t be an idiot
  • Eat.[/quote]