Relatively New to Lifting

Hello good people, my name’s Burt and I’ve been been lurking this site for a few months now, but I think I finally want to ask for help, because I am well aware that I know next to nothing about this.

My story isn’t too too different from a lot of other people’s stories, so I won’t bore you with my full life story. The gist of it is this:

I was about 185lbs and 5’9" a year ago, overweight with no muscle. Dieted and biked it off over the spring and summer which landed me around 150lbs. About six months later (and six months ago) I started lifting when I transferred to rutgers because my roommate is very much a T-Nation fan, very much jacked, and very much russian.

Anyway, he advised me to spend a few months training for strength, and now I alternate heavy lifting weeks with higher volume weeks. I lift about 4 times a week. My deadlift has gone from about 85lbs to 315, squat is up to 205. I’ve never maxed out, which I’m sure is terrible, so I don’t know what my max is for either of those, but I generally do sets of 5x5 for each.

On days I don’t do those, I do pullups and dips, military press dumbbells, bench (max is around 185), row, and on sundays I’ll usually switch it up to powersnatches or cleans or something like that. My schedule generally looks like this:

tuesday: bench and row, sometimes curls or military press
thursday: squat and deadlift, abdominal planks etc
friday: pullups and dips, power snatches sometimes
sunday: varies