T Nation

Relatively New to Bodybuilding

Hey T Nation!

Just recently joined and pretty new to the weight training scene. I’ve read a few articles here before, but didn’t realize just how much there was scattered around the site. Barely managed to scratch the surface!

Anyways, I wanted to come to you guys with a dilemma I’m having. I started lifting ~3 months ago and began with Starting Strength after looking around a bit. From the few accounts I had, it was THE program to start with so I figured it would be the logical way to go. In that time since I started, I’ve gone from ~155lbs to ~175lbs (probably a decent portion of that being fat) and I’ve been making decent newb gains in the big lifts. However, my original goal was more oriented toward bodybuilding, and getting muscle. In some respects SS answers this, but its aimed more toward Strength Training with muscular gain being a secondary effect of this. Don’t get me wrong, I think SS is a great routine, but after reading around more I realized my goals were somewhat the reverse of what SS is aimed to do.

I’ve begun to look a bit at routines more oriented for hypertrophy. What I was wondering is if you guys could offer any advice on whether or not I should stick with SS for awhile longer, or switch to another routine. Haven’t really decided on anything yet, but after looking around this site and a few other places I’ve been considering switching over to 3 or 4 day split of some sort. Thoughts?

20 lbs in 3 months is pretty damn good, even for newb gains. Why change what’s still working? I would stick with it until you hit a plateau in your size and/or strength. JMO.