Regaining your Motivation

Many, many moons ago, I was a very well tune athlete.

I was an All State Basketball and baseball player, 6’3", 225 lbs, run, jump, lift, you name it.

I got involved in weight lifting in college, as I passed on college sports, and got up to about 260 lbs, and was LEAN.

Well, I started playing Rugby in college later on, and quit lifting, but ran, did calesthenics, etc., and got down to about 250 lbs. I was in the best shape of my life. I could run 10 mile, do pushups until I got tired of counting, and was just a freaking BEAST on the rugby pitch.

WELL, I suffered a VERY debilitating ankle injury that required some serious reconstruction. My running days are OVER. Since then, I got my degree in Kinesiology and Exercise Science, and eventually got a job not related to that field, and I am now behind the wheel of a car, or a desk, and my eating is atrocious, as I do stay on the road alot.

When I was injured, and had my ankle surgery, I slipped into depression, and quit exercising completely. I had no desire to go out and do ANYTHING. If I did not have to be bigger, faster or stronger what was the point?

My question is, how do I get myself motivated? I am now a 290-310 lb flabby SOB, and can't stand how I look. Other than that, I have a difficult time getting myself into the gym.

Do you guys have any tips for motivating myself, and also do you have any tips for keeping the SORENESS from killing me. I have made attempts to start again in the past, but failed as I could not make it through the first 2 weeks…yeah, I know I need to quit being a puss, but any advice, or even HARSH WORDS you guys could give me would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Sir Hacksalot

Easy. Go to the gym, get laid. Don’t go to the gym, don’t get laid. Sigmund was right - sex is our prime motivator.

Just show up at the gym. That’s usually what gets me in the mood. If I don’t feel like it, I probably have a pretty good session