T Nation

Reevaluating My Training

I'm 5'4, 150lb and I've been training with weights for about 3 years. My personal goals are overall strength, endurance, and aesthetics. I don't want to build up to huge proportions (ie: ProfX, et al). Though I do want to be like X, my diminutive stature combined with increased width would make me look even shorter than I already am (and I DO look very short). I do want to get a bit "bigger" in certain areas but in general I want to be able to lift heavier and look the part.

Running is a part of my life that I personally want to keep in the mix as I find peace and solace in it. It's an almost religious experience to me. I realize that this will get in the way of building but I am willing to pay that price. I am looking to change things up and find an improved training regimen and would appreciate some advice.

My current training schedule is like this:

Monday: Back
Tuesday: Hill Run, Shoulders, Calves
Wednesday: Bicep, Tricep
Thursday: 30 min body weight circuit, Lunges
Friday: Chest
Saturday: Hill Run, Abs
Sunday: Long Run

My approach has been to do one round of each movement to failure, reduce weight, repeat x4 then after about 6 weeks switch to 10/8/6/4 on each movement and switch back after another 6 weeks.

make lifting your new religion, cut the cardio and lift more frequently

you can still run once a week to maintain cardio endurance without hurting anything too much

gain weight and get stronger

either running or weight training will have to die off somewhat to be good at either, looks like the running is winning right now