T Nation

Redesigning My Diet to Lean Out

Hey everyone.

I’ve been thinking of redesigning my diet to lean out as a main goal.

I have an extremely high metabolism and would be classified as an “ectomorph” I guess, I can pretty much eat whatever and not get fat. I’ve always been a skinny kid so when I started training I’ve always been lean, maybe around 15%bf, but I’ve had the same small amount of belly fat under by belly button that I’d like to shed (My abs show, but it’s like that abs under the small layer of fat thing).

Current stats are 5’10", 195lb.

For the past 4 years I’ve been eating the same thing every day. I went from 165-185 after I started powerlifting and so I ate as a power lifter and have been fluctuating between 185-195 last year.

I’ve been on a bodybuilding program for the past 4 months so currently I sit at 195 maybe a bit less. When I started the program I cut wheat from my diet so now its only rice and I also cut carbs from 2 of my meals (before I ate carbs with every meal). My current diet is still working, but I think with the amount of carbs I eat I’m starting to maybe get fatter since I’m not 18 anymore, current age 26.

Meals are every 2 hours. Fresh vegetables are always a mix of standard salad stuff (tomatoes, cucumbers, lettuce) and also lots and lots of kale, broccoli, watercress, onions and green beans. I also used to eat a lot of fish, but currently I don’t, planning on adding that back in.

Meal 1: 3 eggs, bagel, broccoli.
Meal 2: 150g chicken, 150g rice, 200g fresh vegetables
Meal 3: 230g ground beef, 200g fresh vegetables
Meal 4: 150g chicken, 200g fresh vegetables
Meal 5: 230g ground beef, 150g rice, 200g fresh vegetables
Meal 6: 150g chicken, 150g rice, 200g fresh vegetables
Meal 7: (pre workout): 150g chicken, 150g rice
Peri-workout: Carbs-BCAAs-Creatine
Post Workout (before bed): Casein shake

So my questions are:

Is it really as simple as cutting carbs?

Which meals should I cut carbs from?