T Nation

Recovery Issues with T-Dawg

I’ve been on the T-Dawg for about a week now, and have noticed that I seem to be experiencing bigtime DOMS for the first time since I can remember (and with a lifting regime I have done before without significant DOMS). I feel like I am simply not healing. Should this be expected with a low-carb diet like the T-Dawg? Is it due to the low carbs, or is it largely due to something else (I am taking in less protein than I was before I started the diet too as a result of following the T-Dawg guidelines.) This is the first time I have really tried a cutting diet such as this, although I have been training for about 3 years…just looking for an opinion from someone who has experience with this.

Are you getting enough sleep? I’m in in the middle of the t-dawg diet and haven’t experienced any extra soreness at all.

I’m not sure if you’re aware, but Chris Shugart has said he wants to rewrite the T-dawg diet with some new carb recommendations. 100 on workout days, and 70 on non. Protein intake can be higher too. I went way above the .8 grams per pound recommendations. Usually between 1.5 - 2 grams per pound, and I’m getting great results. The calories guidelines are good, but carbs and protein can be modified. Find what works for you dude. Good luck.

I started the T-Dawg diet a week ago and I have also noticed the same thing. I believe there are several things that might contribute to more soreness including…
Lower calories, low carbs, possible dehydration (from taking ephedrine and caffiene fat burners).
I did legs the other day and right now my legs are beyond sore, I feel like a cripple.
I guess the positive side is enhanced fat loss and a better looking physique.

Didn’t he say 50 grams of carbs on off days instead of 70 grams? I doubt it really matters either way, I’m just being curious.