Recovering to Baseline vs Overcompensation

A lot gets talked about people either lifting again before their muscles recover or people waiting too long to lift again, but is it possible to be training when muscles have recovered to baseline but not given enough time to overcompensate and make gains? In this state you aren’t training too much as far as having your body in a constant state of breaking down and eventually getting weaker, but you are also aren’t making progress.

Is this state of limbo a real thing ? I seem to be in it right now. I’m a beginner and have been working each body part every second day going to failure for 3-5 sets for 5 reps and have made zero progress in 2 months. I’m also not getting any weaker, my body seems to be recovering as far as getting back to baseline, but not making improvements.

So, to clarify, when you do squats, you squat until you fail, the bar crashes onto the pins of the rack, you take all the plates off, re rack it, reload it, and then do 2-4 more sets just like that?

2 Likes

As in im barely able to get the last rep up and i know i wouldnt be able to do another rep.

That is not going to failure…

You most likely have more in you

4 Likes

He’s not being mean, OP; it’s really hard to actually get to failure. I definitely don’t have the courage to do it more then once or twice a workout on anything more serious than a curl or machine press.

1 Like

You aren’t varying your rep ranges, so expect this to happen.

Evaluate your nutrition and training regimen (process) before evaluating results (outcome). Your training is probably incorrect, especially if you are reaching failure after 5 reps repeatedly.

Start trying for those extra reps. Set a goal rep amount you want to hit before you move up in weight and once you get to that target rep, add weight next time and repeat that process until you’re so big that you don’t need to ask questions.

And

You seem the answer your own question.