T Nation

Recent Gains in my Bench

Hey,

I'm not sure if you guys do this much but I had some recent gains in my bench that I'm pretty happy about.  I'm 6'3", 185lbs, and 38 years old and did 3x210, 3x225, 5x235(lbs).  One month ago I hit 3x195, 3x210, 4x220.  More importantly, big picture wise, 2 years ago at 170lbs I could do only 14 pushups.  

Anyway, I've been hitting the gym pretty seriously for 3 months now, starting at 185 for 7 reps. My recent gains were a little more than expected and I think it has a lot to do with the So You Think You Can Bench videos that someone posted.  

I'm hoping to hit a 1RM of 300lbs this summer and get a video of it because no one ever believes I'm as strong as I am....not that I'm anything amazing, but, as I said, I'm 6'3" 185lbs.

Thanks for reading.

300 by the summer? Have fun with that. I used to gain about 10 pounds a month on the bench until that hiatus came and it slowed down. I recently hit 300 after one year of training. Then again, my lock out is weak.

Grats on the gains (If that's what you were looking for)

Thanks...maybe 15lbs in a month isn't that amazing. I just didn't expect to keep improving this fast. I was at 1RM of ~225 in October. Now I'm hitting 235 for 5. Originally I was hoping to hit 300 by next Christmas. Now its looking like June or July might be realistic. Maybe sooner.

after watching those vids you turned the bench into more of a compound exercise.

those rapid gains that you made recently may very well be attributed primarily to technique changes and after you made those changes your bench progress is going to stall soon unless you gain a lot of weight especially since you're 6'3 and probably have really long arms. (work=force X distance) tall people with long arms usually do quite well with the deadlift

i know you know this but wanted to point it out so that you don't feel like you didn't do something right if you don't get to 300 anytime soon