T Nation

Recent Blood Test Results: Anyone Had This Experience?

Hello fellow ironheads,

I recently had my bloodwork done by my PCP; no issue, just routine stuff. But what was interesting was that the blood was drawn after I had been lifting hard for several months, and been on DiPasquale’s Anabolic solution for a bout 6 weeks. I thought it would be a good chance to see how my diet and training were affecting my chemistry.

Here are my results. If you are a trainer/PT/doctor and have some input, it would appreciated. Hell, that’s why I’m posting:

(Unless otherwise stated all values are in mg/dL)
Triglycerides: 92 Normal is 0-200
HDL Cholesterol: 60 Normal is 35-55
Glucose: 56 Normal is 70-105
BUN 33 Normal is 6-19
Creatinine, SER 1.1 Normal is .5-1.2
LDL Cholesterol 108 Normal is 50-130
SGOT(AST) 46 U/L Normal is 8-40
SGPT(ALT) 54 U/L Normal is 0-40

My wife is an ICU nurse and started cautioning me on the results. She was concerned about certain elevated levels, and I was wondering if the High fat, low carb diet did have some adverse affects.

For example, I am happy to see that my Triglyrerides and HDL/LDL values and ratio look great after high fat dieting for 6 weeks, with carb loading on weekends. Check out that blood glucose level. It seems I had been successful in affecting those levels from the diet, as I think Dr. D expects.

However, it looks like kidney and liver functioning seems to be out of whack. High protein the issue? Too many saturated fats?

The BUN, SGOT, and SGPT numbers are out of limits. That has me concerned, and troubled about whether I need to modify the diet.

Any two cents from the experts here?

[quote]MassivePilgrim wrote:
BUN 33 Normal is 6-19
[/quote]

Interesting that you were given some of those ranges. I recently had bloodwork done as well:
Triglycerides…53…Range: <150
HDL…51…Range: >40
LDL…112…Range: <100 Optimal, 100-129 Near Optimal
BUN/Creatinine Ratio…26.7…Range: 6-25
Creatinine Ser…(.9)…Range: .5-1.2