Rear Delt Development

I feel like my options for developing my rear delts (in which I can tell that I have a clear imbalance with the fronts) are limited to bent over reverse flyes (standing or seated), high cable flyes, or face pulls. While all of these are great exercises, I was curious about what intensity/rep schemes you guys have found effective to improve your Rear Delts.

burn them out with mega high reps. I’m talking as high as 30 reps a set.

Stole that from John Meadows and it totally works. Also, if you have a shoulder day, train your rear delts first.

2 Likes

I like hitting a set of 20 band pull aparts in between sets of everything else on my upper body days. Great way to build up some volume.

2 Likes

1-arm elbow out rows, 3-4x8-12, powerful positive and a slow-ish negative. Focus on keeping the elbow in line with the shoulder, or even slightly more forwards.

And 1-arm standing reverse cable flyes, 2-3x10-15, touching the working muscle with the fingers of the non-working hand and shortening the ROM to eliminate the first portion where there’s least resistance.

Basically this ^ (no, that’s not me, hardy har har), but i’d set the pulley a notch or two lower, so it’s actually level with the shoulders, and the dude’s left hand would be feeling the right rear delt working (tough to find, but get it in place before the set starts). You’d only “lower” the weight until the right hand is about even with your face. Sounds more complicated than it actually is.

Yep. Never a bad idea.

Also never a bad idea. Band pull-aparts are one of the few things that almost don’t count as “training”, but at the same time, can have a big impact in the long run. I have a simple bungee cord I keep around the house to knock out some whenever.

1 Like

High rep band pullaparts couple of times a week are Jesus.