T Nation

Really Weak Chest

I curl the same amount I bench with. I recently starting lifting, I used to be a runner. I can curl and bench 60 lbs. I know, thats a tiny amount of weight to bench, but I have to start somewhere, and my chest is my largest weakness. If I am lifting 5 days a week(I started last week), how long do you guys think until I see some results. Also I’ve been doing chest twice a week. I do 5 sets of 5 flat bench press at 60lbs., decline press 4 sets of 10 at 60 lbs., dumbbell flys 4 sets of 12 at 15 lbs per hand, and I end with 5 sets of 10 pushups(which sometimes I cant do because my chest is giving up at that point). Its easier than last week(the week I started lifting weights again). But its pretty embarrassing and my dad tells me my chest is like a six year olds chest… Also he said he thinks its mostly in my head(whatever that means). He never taught me how to lift weights, but anyways I am rambling on now. What do you guys think? How long will it take to see some progress and results, and what should I change if anything? thisis the workout template im going by: https://www.t-nation.com/workouts/tried-and-true-bodybuilding-program-template Thanks for the help guys!

Forearm Extensors and Flexors Help

Dunno keep benching and doing push ups and you tell us. I don’t think you need to worry about chest flyers at the moment though.

Got it Ill keep at it thanks for the reply So should I replace flys with anthing else? or just do more reps on the bench press and pushups?

At the moment just focus on push ups and bench. Put your other energy into overhead press and barbell/dumbbell rowing. To have a big bench you need a big back so don’t neglect that.

Push-ups are a great exercise and don’t be worried about doing them daily or every second day at home.

You need to be quite a bit further down the line to get the most out of a bodypart split like that.

At your level one of these would be much better…

can tack on pushups like these at the end…