T Nation

Realistic Goals?

Alright, I thought I had figured out what I wanted and where I wanted to go with body building. But I still cannot figure out a goal right now. Here's my stats currently 5'8" and 187 lbs. I am currently doing CW's TBT 3 times a week and participating in Joel Marion's Cheaters Diet group. I'm unhappy with my gut basically, it sticks out like I'm pregnant. I really want to change that.

But here's where I don't know what to do, I see physiques like Ernie Sims and Brad Cardova? and I think damn I would like that build . I do not know what kind of time frame a goal like that would take. I figured that these guys have been working out a long time to get the way they are. I should mention that my original goal was to lose weight and get ripped.

I now see the physiques that I like and want to know how to acheive them and what I need to do to get there. I'm still new at bodybuilding and have alot to learn, I am willing to learn and any guidance is highly appreciated.

If that's you in your avatar, you don't need to worry about losing fat. You need to build muscle to have a body anywhere close to those you've mentioned.

I recommend sticking to the basics -- lift heavy and often and eat smart to allow your body to recover and grow. There are plenty of nutrition and training articles on this site that cover this.

Don't worry about finding that "one" special routine that will allow you to make progress over night. There are likely many routines that will work well for you at this point. Just pick one and use it for 6 to 8 weeks. If you continue to progress, stick with it. If not, try something else for 6 to 8 weeks.

It's not rocket science (no matter what some personal trainers would like you to believe).