T Nation

Realistic Goals

Hello all, I was just looking for some quick answers regarding, well…everything.

First and foremost, some background information about myself is probably in order. I’m a beginner and very scrawny, at 5’8" and only 128 lbs. My diet was atrocious, I admit that, consisting of eating any food I could find and fluctuating between 1000-2100 calories a day. So sad now that I look back…
My current weights are 155 for benchpress, 185 squat, and 175 deadlift, all in pounds by the way. Unimpressive, I know, but beginners start somewhere…
I’ve been lifting for about four years incorrectly and about two months correctly. I always used to focus on “mirror muscles” but have turned a new leaf and now am doing the muscles you “can’t see”.

Anyways, now for my questions…

1. My goal is to at least hit 225 lbs in all of my three main lifts (for now). Realistically, how long should I expect it to take to reach my goal for each lift?
  2. I’m looking for some protein shake, but it’s all a bit confusing and overwhelming. Can anyone lead me towards a good one or a place where I can at least determine what is good or not?
  3. What’s the deal with milk? I hear that it’s both good and bad but I have no idea why. I’ve been chugging down gallons of it throughout my life, and I’m wondering if I should cut back or stop or something…
  4. And finally, is gaining 150 lbs from 128 lbs, in one year an unrealistic goal?

I’m determined to reach my goal and…well, I’m determined.

1. Aim to gain at least 10lbs on those three lifts each month by using a simple, easy to follow strength training regimen.

2. It honestly doesn’t matter very much as long as it is Whey Protein. Any of the ones from this website would be good. I get mine from Walmart =)

3. milk is fine unless you are lactose intolerant.

4. Going from 128lbs to 150lbs in one year is entirely realistic and would be a good thing to achieve. I personally would aim HIGHER, however…