Realistic Expectations?

I’ve been lifting for a few years now… Started in my early teens to get big, along the way played some sports, and now I just lift for the love of it

I consider myself a moderately strong guy… Not STRONG by strength athlete standards, but decently strong. I have an Elite Raw PL total (at least by these standards: http://www.rawpowerlifting.com/classifications.htm they do vary alot)

The thing is… I am PISS weak at Olympic Lifting. Even if I went down 3 or 4 weight categories (which I probably even’t physically can’t), I wouldn’t even be competitive at a REGIONAL level

I can’t understand this world apart in strength. Should I just give up hope on being particularly strong at the weightlifts? Is it even possible without an early start, lifelong dedication, proper coaching and strong drug use?

You are piss weak at Olympic lifting…at the moment. That has no bearing on how you will be in 2,3 or 10-years time.

Chances are you aren’t squatting like an oly lifter, aren’t as flexible as an oly lifter and simply aren’t as explosive as an oly lifter. The lifts are very technical (especially the snatch) and take a very long time to master, although the basic can be learned in a matter of a few weeks.

I suppose it depends on what your goals are but I certainly don’t think you should give up before you’ve really started.

Coaching is invaluable but I know at least 1 guy who isn’t a natural strength athlete who got to the standard of a 110kg snatch and 140kg c&j within 2-years with little to no coaching so it can be done.

Just how weak as piss are you?

Strength in the powerlifts generally doesn’t transfer well into the olympic lifts. You have to practice the lifts and their variations to get powerful and fast in the positions necessary for a good snatch/clean/jerk. You’ve gotta be able to put your ego aside, or you’re just going to be continually frustrated that you’re shifting so much less weight.