Real Strength

In High school I lettered in basketball, tennis and cross-country. I felt very fit, but of course could never put on an ounce of muscle because I was far too active. I graduated two years ago and started lifting hard; doing mostly Waterbury programs, and went from 145 to 170 lbs. In order to gain weight I limited my cardio to well… None. I literally walk slower in order to burn fewer calories.

I am fairly strong for my size benching around 300 and squatting close to 400. Recently a personal trainer at the gym invited me to go to one of her classes which involved military style training (lots of wall sits, pushups, lunges, bear crawls, exc.) I went into this class feeling like I would conquer it. Never, have I had a worse experience. Men and women twice my age kicked my ass. I looked next to me and my junior high history teacher could hold an isometric pushup three times as long as I. I felt so completely unfit, and now I wonder what I can do to get better at this type of bodyweight style training, because I will not fail. I will not be mocked by baby boomers. I am going to the class next week to prove that I do not back down easily, but I know that if I want to improve that I must supplement something into my training.

Any suggestions on what I can do? Thanks.

Bodyweight calisthenics.

Be careful what you wish for. After spending 5 yrs in the Marines, I could do 20 “dead hang” pullups, do pushups all day long and run 3 miles in 20 minutes. However, once I got out and started lifting again, I found that I didn’t have a Type IIB fiber left in my body. After two years of heavy training, I’m still not where I was (strength wise) before I went in the Corps. Bottom line—You can’t have both.