READY-SHOOT?...Then AIM

Last weekend, I was working with my teenage son in our home gym. He is taking a weight training class at school and wanted a few tips on performing cleans. When we finished the technique drills he said, ?Dad, it must have been tough when you started lifting-you did not have anybody to show you how to lift and you had to figure it all out on your own. He was correct. When I started lifting, there was no internet, books were scarce and you had to travel to even find something resembling a lifting/bb magazine to at least give you some type of information. (even if it was bad information) The only book that our area library had that was on weight training was a book on track and field that had a section on lifting weights ( I kept it checked out for almost 2 straight years) Despite all of this, the ?figuring it out on my own? was half the fun of training. If a magic genie showed up when I started training and handed me a thick notebook and said-This book contains a detailed list of your all of optimal workouts for the rest of your life. Each training day is already written out for you-all you have to do is follow it—if that had actually happened, I doubt I would have kept training?I always loved lifting because you could personalize your workouts as you saw fit-there was no rules. Of course, there are basic principles and laws to adhere to, but you could pretty much do your own thing. The very essence of lifting is self-discovery. Be patient, set goals and keep a training journal!