T Nation

Raw Training

I was curious as to the opinions of members on Raw training. Is more volume needed and more frequent training days?

Is a three day split adequate to build strength?

Is their a best or better program for Raw/Natural lifters?

You asking about raw, or natural, or both?

both.

More volume/frequent training than what?

I am just curious how Raw/Unassisted lifters train. And how that differs from a geared/assisted lifter.

what about raw/assisted and geared/unassisted…

[quote]T3hPwnisher wrote:
More volume/frequent training than what?[/quote]

I was reading a critique on several programs on Powerliftingtowin.com. He frequently criticized programs for not being developed for Raw/unassisted lifters. Stating Raw lifters needed more volume and frequency of training. Many of the programs he recommended required two or more days training the bench press and at least two days training Squat/DL.

I’m no expert. I am curious from the more experienced lifters here what their opinion is on this topic.

[quote]rusty92 wrote:
what about raw/assisted and geared/unassisted…[/quote]

I would like to know. Added to my confusion.

Well with anything there is no one right way, in the training world I think it has more of a pendulum effect. The question you posed, for raw natural lifters, one far side of the pendulum would be the high frequency approach that many suggest. On the other side it would be low frequency with alot of focus on assistance movements. But in my opinion, for a raw natural lifter that could be classified as an intermediate I would suggest maybe somewhere in the middle. I know thats probably not as a definitive answer as you want though

Does volume and frequency really vary b/t raw and geared?

Does somehow the human body recover faster from one v. the other? Just doesn’t make a lot of sense to me.

Of course natural v. assisted, that’s a different story.

[quote]calebsmitty wrote:

[quote]T3hPwnisher wrote: