Rate My Programme

Hi,
I’ve been using a 3day upper / lower split for roughly 6 months and am now wanting to train legs twice, with 4 days in the gym a week instead of three. My goal is hypertrophy/aesthetics and will modify my diet for bulking…
Anyway, here is what I was thinking

Day 1: Hamstrings/Lower Back/Calves

Romanian Deadlift - 3x10
Back Extention - 3x10
Leg Curl - 3x10
Calf Raise - 3xFailure

Day 2: Chest/Shoulders/Triceps/Abs

Incline Dumbbell Bench - 3x10
Flat Bench - 3x10
Dips - 3x6 (still mastering bodyweight…)
Lateral Raises - 3x10
Pushdowns - 3x10
Extentions - 3x10
Swiss Ball Crunches - 3xFailure

Day 3: Off

Day 4: Quads/Calves/Abs

Bulgarian Split Squats - 3x10
Lunges - 3x10
Leg press - 3x10
Extentions - 3x10
Single Leg Calf Raises - 3x10
Leg Raises - 3xFailure

Day 5: Back/Traps/Biceps

Barbell Row - 3x10
Lat Pulldown - 3x10
Cable Row to Chest - 3x10
Shrugs - 3x10
Preacher Curls - 3x10
Reverse Curls - 3x10

Any comments/critiques would be very helpful. I was also wondering if its safe to include deadlifts and romanian deadlifts in the same week (I was thinking of heavy deadlifts for back day…) ((I am also doing core work at the start of each workout…))

Thanks

Yes, it is safe to include romanian deadlifts and regular deadlifts in the same week.

Why are you doing Bulgarian Split Squats AND Lunges? Replace one of them with Squats (3-5 rep range, 5-6 sets) and put squats first in the workout. I’d replace RDLs with regular DLs as well… you will get plenty of hamstring work with regular DL’s.

Where is your shoulder work? 3 sets of lateral raises doesn’t count. Get some overhead pressing (preferably barbell, but DB if your shoulder doesn’t like BB).

Any beginner program needs to have squatting, deadlifting, benching and overhead pressing each once/week IMO. I wouldn’t do a split like that, especially as a beginner (I’d do each bodypart twice/week since you can recover more quickly). But if I did, I’d tweak yours something like this:

Day 1.