Ramping Question

I am new to ramping my sets. Well I have always ‘ramped’ instinctively but after reading Thib’s recent article, I started following his method closely. From what I understand, he suggests keeping the reps the same on each set, keeping the reps explosive. (155 x 8 / 175 x 8 / 205 x 8 etc …)

My lifts have actually decreased. I feel more fatigued on that last ‘all out set’ then usual. I usually ramp the exact same way he suggests but reduce the number of reps as I get closer to my one work set weight ( 155 x 8 / 175 x 6 / 205 x 4 …).

Does anyone run into this same problem or I’m I missing the point of this whole ramping thing?!

cheers

Use your head. To start youll feel more fatigued if ur pyramiding starts smaller ie 10 8 6 4 2? and then u started using 8 for everything, therefore making u use 8 reps on a set u usually do 6 reps, youll be fatigued for the next one, think about it. But in my opinion, i think its the best way of ramping, ur not fatigued by extra reps on lighter sets, and its easy to record numbers.

Secondly, being explosive on lifts, like pressing movements, or any in fact, will make u more fatigued to begin with, and your numbers will drop significantly, for example ill press 40kg db’s for reps on my final set, just doing my thing. if im explosive throughout, my numbers will drop till my final set is about 30-32.5kgs. but… being consistently explosive will allow your body better recruit more muscle fibres and later on, become better off, ie. be more explosive, lift more weight, leading to more muscle.

hope it helps

I think you should be doing fewer reps per set, in order to not be fatigued by the time you approach the top sets of the day. If you keep your ramping around 3-5 reps per set, from the first sets to the last, this wouldn’t be an issue.