(Ramble) Not Terribly Exciting...

But I thought I’d share it anyway. Today was a day at the gym that will probably stick out in my mind for a little bit.

Got to the gym a little later than usual on account of some work I got tied up with. It was a pulling day. Wasn’t really “feeling it” when I pulled in the parking lot, but once I started lifting, I was hitting my numbers with ease and good form. That was good.

I was getting pressed for time by the time I was planning on doing some hang cleans, so I was going to be naughty and do them in the squat rack (so as not to have to muck with the power rack)… but some other dude bout my size beat me to the squat rack and started doing jerks.

I was pleased to see somebody else doing something besides benching or curling, although my gym really isn’t too bad in that regard. Better still, I’m not doing jerks in my current routine, but I’m pretty sure I could have done more than this guy.

Not that I think I’m better than him, but, hey… we’re all secretly in competition, right? So, anyway, I sucked it up and reconfigured the power rack for my hang cleans.

By my 3rd set, I noticed several younger lads kinda watching me… they weren’t real sure what I was doing, I suppose. Between my 4th and 5th set, one of them walked up to me and asked me for a spot. Mind you, he walked almost halfway across the gym, passing a number of other guys, to ask me for the spot. Is that a sign of respect?

I really don’t know, but I’m going to keep telling myself that it is. When I look in the mirror these days, I don’t see a guy as big as I want to see, but lately I’ve been noticing that I’m one of the bigger (although not really jacked) guys in my gym… and that makes me happy as shit. Anyhow, after I spotted this kid, I finished up and hit the showers with a good pump, and left the gym refreshed.