T Nation

Raj Trying to Drop Fat in a Hurry

Hello, I Have been training since the summer of 2007 but really only properly since December 2008 when a friend told me about T-Nation. A few years ago I went from an obese 250lbs to a skinny fat 205lbs doing cardio 5x a week. After that I started lifting weights.

The last two years I had been stuck at this weight couldn't get it down any lower and decided to eat a caloric surplus (increasing carb intake mainly) for a few months and see if I would look better with more muscle and a little more fat.

I made great strength gains during that time but now at 213lb I think I look worse than I did at 205lb. I am now trying to drop to 195lb by the end of the year and have decided to start a log so I can track my progress.

My Stats:

Height: 6'0
Weight: 213lb
Waist measurement: 38.5 inches (I'll be taking this measurement weekly)
Occupation: Student (studying to become a management accountant certified in the US & Canada)

I cannot do any pressing movements as my left shoulder is injured. My Chiro has me doing rehab exercises 3x a week (which I will do after my workouts) that include lower trap exercises such as wall slides, facepulls and overhead shrugs. As well as rotator cuff exercises. By the end of November I should be back to benching and military pressing. Hopefully.

I have chosen a split the following way, but plan to alter it once my shoulder is 100%:

Legs+20min Steady State Cardio+shoulder rehab
Arms + Sprints
Back + 40min steady state cardio+shoulder rehab
Off
Unilateral Leg day + 20min cardio+shoulder rehab
Metabolic+40min steady state cardio
Off

I Really Really Really want to be under 200lbs! Except for a couple of years ago when I was really stressed out I have not been under 200lb in my adult life. My sister is getting married on August 1 2010 and I am hoping to be ripped by then but I'm starting with something a little more realistic at first.