Rack Pulls

im doing these for the first time this week and i just wanted to know what sort of weight i should be pulling compared to the deadlift? i like to go to the gym with a number to shoot for in my head and i can deadlift 120kg for 5 reps.
thanks in advance, sieb

You’ll never know until you give it a try and find out. Depends on a lot of factors including body mechanics and pin height, everybody is different. I know guys who have rack pulls that are very close to their full deadlift number and I know guys who can rack pull 300lbs more than what they could ever get off the floor.

Personally if im pulling from high shin level I can usually go about 70 to 100 pounds above what I can pull off the floor. At the knee I can get up to 150 to 200 lbs.

Compared to everyone else here, I’m just a light-weight noob, so I didn’t even know that a rack-pull was a goal in itself; I use them as practice for my deadlift.

In other words: I’m currently deadlifting 165-lbs. So today, I did 5 rack-pulls at 170, which I hope to be able to deadlift next time.

Don’t know if this is a standard strategy or not.

I use rack pulls to get used to heavier weights for the deadlift, but it is a goal in itself. I always pull from just below the knee and I get about 100lbs more than my full dead. My PR in the RP is 590 right now.

I also sometimes do lockouts, mostly for overloading my grip and support structure.

Dragonmamma, at 165 for a full deadlift, you may be able to hit in the 225-255 range on a knee level rack pull, depending on grip. But work slowly, using low reps and singles to see what you can do.

You might be surprised on what a good RP can do for your full deadlift. Get some speed off the floor, pull heavy and lock it out.

-folly

You might consider doing rack pulls with your deadlift max or even more than your deadlift max.

[quote]folly wrote: