Quitting smoking

I’ve decided to give up smoking. It didn’t take much thought, the fact that I was tired running 100m back from the local shop was enough to make me think. I’ve been smoking for 5 months, avaerging about 5 roll-ups a day. As far as I know, my options are: 1. Cold turkey. 2. Nicotine patches. 3. Chopping my hands off. 4. Nicotine patches on my eyes so I can’t open them and find my fags. What you you guys/gals think is te best option, and have you tries any of these? Any other advice/hints/ideas appreciated. I’ll keep you updated on my progress. Cheers.

Nathan: congrats! Good job! Okay, now you need to find a boxing gym. Join, and go and hit the heavy bag. Or find a nice MA school and/or maybe yoga. Something that’ll take your mind off your “non-smoking” anxieties. You need to stay physically and mentally busy.

I've never smoked in my life, but this is what I'm thinking you need to do. Oh, and keep thinking that you have just done the best thing for your body by quitting smoking.

You can also consult with your doctor about your desire to quit. They are usually very helpful. I had a relative who did it just recently, and she is having an easy time with it.

Her doctor prescribed a medication called Zyban. It’s for allergies, but it also helps with the nicotine cravings. You start on the medication, then have your last cigarette about two weeks later. You keep taking the medication for a while to help. I don’t know all the details, but I know people who have failed many times trying to quit, and this worked for them.

So go see your doctor and ask about Zyban. Good Luck and congratulations on your choice to quit.

Don’t laugh but I have had three friends quit using hypnosis. I think it is generallly a round of three treatments…Also have know 2 people who quit using a cycle of wellbutrin…good luck