Quick Gains = Chance of Injury?

I’m a freshman in college, playing on a D1 athletic team. Since I’ve started the strength and conditioning program, I’ve gained about 15-20 pounds, almost all of which is LBM. I went from about 175lbs 6%BF (Skinny mofo, I know) to 192lbs 9% bf. I did this over the course of 5 months.

I had one of our coaches tell me that I should try and keep my weight around where it is now, because gaining too much weight too quickly can lead to an increased chance of injury.

Is there any merit to this statement? I stretch 3x a day in order to ward off any injuries that might occur. Obviously I don’t want to get hurt, but I’ve never felt better on the diamond than I do now, and I can only imagine what I’ll feel like when I get to 200-210.

I’m not a professional, but can go from what I read from doctors on the subject.

Anyway, it’s my understanding that your muscles can grow at faster rates (especially when using steroids or GH or anything like that) than your tendons. If your muscles grow faster than your tendons are able to properly support them and grow, then yes you can definitely jack yourself up.

Normally this isn’t a problem if you’re natural as your body should keep up with itself. I say keep packing down the calories and go for it.

STRETCH MARKS

[quote]obmas wrote:
STRETCH MARKS[/quote]

Haha gotta watch out for those.

As far as gaining weight too quickly, I think if you exercise, eat right, and stretch you’ll be fine. I can imagine he’d suggest that because some might get too large to perform with the same athleticism they could at a lighter weight. Since baseball is a big time skill game, he probably wants you to keep nimble/athletic/skilled.

So the short answer: No worries. You’ll be fine. Keep at it bro and good luck.

If its a contact sport or one that requires alot of fast changes of direction yes. More stress on your knees, ankles and muscles.

But I wouldnt worry.