Questions for Lawyers/Professors

I’m a senior political science student who is looking into working for a year or so and then entering either a PHD or JD program. At the moment I’m leaning toward PHD, as I’d like to become a professor, but I am fascinated by the law, particularly issues related to civil rights and constitutional law. I have a few questions for members of either profession.

For the lawyers:
What did you do before going to law school? Also, one thing I’m considering is working as an assistant at a law firm. I realize that this will mainly involve me doing paperwork and such, but would this give me an impression of what a legal career would entail? Is there any value to such a course of action?

For professors:
Did you go straight to a graduate program or did you work first? What sort of jobs might be beneficial to someone considering a PHD? Do schools look closely at what you do after college, or are they mainly concerned that you simply have a job?

Sorry if this post is a little long. Thanks for any advice.

[quote]mundele wrote:
Sorry if this post is a little long. Thanks for any advice.[/quote]

For a potential lawyer or professor? Not even close.

[quote]nephorm wrote:
mundele wrote:
Sorry if this post is a little long. Thanks for any advice.

For a potential lawyer or professor? Not even close.[/quote]

Ha. Maybe I should go back and lengthen it.

Depending on the PhD program, some (many) require a Masters first.

As far as a job, really depends on the program. It is probably too late to get into a program for next your–especially if you are going to want funding–so you are looking at getting a job. If you can get something that is geared towards the benefit of others (volunteering in New Orleans, aid work overseas, not-for-profits, etc.) that generally looks good within academia.

[quote]mundele wrote: