T Nation

Questions for Experienced Lifters

Hey all,

I’m new to training - however not new to the associated knowledge base. I’ve working on a degree in Human Kinetics and my CSCS cert. So what I need in terms of help is some advice from those who’ve been there and done it.

Firstly, I’m 26YO, 5’8, wiegh about 150IBS. 32inch waist, 39inch chest. Slightly ectomorphic physique, which has been supplemented by a lot of soccer, stints at the weightroom, and an active lifestyle. My bodyfat % was around the 10% mark, but I believe its closer to 12 now since I’ve stopped playing soccer. The problem is that almost all the extra fat is in my midsection. The rest of me seems to remain fat free.

So my dilemma is the obvious bulk or cut one. I desperately want to bulk, and I need to as my muscle mass is nowhere near what it should be. However, I’m deathly afraid of getting a bigger gut. It’s already too big for my liking.

Secondly - I currently work out at a shithole of a gym. Due to my schedule/location currently, its the only option. No squat rack, no bench press, a lot of machines, and a big ugly smith machine. The good thing is that I can do dead lifts, and possibly cleans in order to do presses. Squats is where I run into trouble. I know full well the importance of the squat, especially in a mass building program. However, I want to hear from anyone (as unlikely as it sounds) who has achieved results doing a squat alternative (something that doesn’t require a rack).

Thanks in advance, and apologies for my wordiness.

-K

if you cant do squats or bench, i wouldnt go to that gym… and u definately need to bulk, a cut really isnt necessary… at 150lbs u dont have much muscle to show off… good luck

[quote]ghostofbellstar wrote:
if you cant do squats or bench, i wouldnt go to that gym… and u definately need to bulk, a cut really isnt necessary… at 150lbs u dont have much muscle to show off… good luck
[/quote]

x2

x3

x4