Questions About Rest/Pause Routine

Hey, I’m a newbie to this site. I’m 24 years old, 6 foot 172 lbs, 18-20% bodyfat. My goal EVENTUALLY would be to get 180-185lbs with 10-12 % bf. Atleast thats my primary goal.

After lifting for 6 years, I’ve come to grips that I cant gain muscle and lose fat at the same time, so I’m going to try this Rest/Pause routine to gain some mass. So this is the routine.

Monday/Thurs
Bench
Dumbell rows
Dumbell biceps curls

Tues/ Fri
Pullups
Military Press
Tris

Im going to do the whole 1 rep thing at my max weight, rest 1min and complete 10 reps for each exercise. As I progress, I am going to cut down my rest time to 10-15 seconds.

Now maybe some people who have had experience with this or are just knowledgable about it can give me some advice. Do I just do 1 exercise per muscle group on that day? How often do I do abs. I don’t want to gain any fat, so can I do cardio with this routine.

And if I do cardio, when is the best time to do it, how long should I run and how often. How long should I continue to do this routine? Some people say 8 weeks, others say 5. I appreciate any advice on this and I apologize if I wrote this in the wrong section…

Too many questions to answer right now, it’s late someone else will answer those, what I will say…where’s the legs. You have a reason for not working legs, I’d say take out curls and triceps and put in deadlifts and squats, but my guess is you won’t like that.

[quote]muimuiman wrote:
Hey, I’m a newbie to this site. I’m 24 years old, 6 foot 172 lbs, 18-20% bodyfat. My goal EVENTUALLY would be to get 180-185lbs with 10-12 % bf. Atleast thats my primary goal.
[/quote]

What was your starting weight? What is your diet like?

Hey man, not trying to sound like a dick, but if this is the best workout that you can come up with after 6 years of training, then switching to rest/pause would be way down the list of suggestions that I’d make to you.