T Nation

Questions about Intermittent Fasting

I am looking for some knowledgeable advice on IF. I have recently started this style of eating, with the goal of burning fat and maintaining muscle mass. The concerns I have are that I training early in the morning, between 4:30 am and 6:00 am. I would prefer not to have to do this but my schedule dictates it. I am a school teacher, coach, and father so the afternoons and evening are dedicated to my athletes and my family. I guess the questions I need answered are as follows:

1. With no pre, peri, or post workout nutrition will my workouts yield little or no results?
  2. Will taking my supplements (Fish Oil, Vitamin D, L-Carnitine, Alpha Male) only during the 8 hour eating window from Noon until 7 p.m. have any adverse affects?
    Looking forward to hearing from some of you, Thanks!

You can fast the second part of the day. Adjust your window to before bed and eat when you wake. Maybe lunch is the last meal of the day. Make the fasting slot fit your life.

I am also coach, teacher, father, etc…

Keep grinding. 4 am wake up with a cold shower in the field house is less than ideal but how bad do you want it…

Hi and welcome to the forums.

Probably less results but how much less can vary, from barely a difference to big drops in performance, depending on a lot of factors e.g. how intense/long your sessions are. My advice would be to try it out for a bit to give your body time to adapt and see how you feel.

If you go into sessions truly believing you’re going to have a bad time you’re already setting yourself up for it like a self fulfilling prophecy and all that jazz. The food you eat the night before, the day before that and your body stores don’t magically vanish or count for nothing just because you follow IF.