Questions about Bench Press

1. I know that you’re supposed to retract you shoulder blades for bench. Are they retracted and also depressed? (what confused me is that Thibs said in the livespill that you bench with with your shoulders shrugged?)

2. Also, I’ve heard that you use your lats to assist in the press. To do this, do your shoulder blades remain retracted?? because I can’t see how you could use your lats or chest if they remain pinched back…

3. How wide of a grip is recommended?

4. Lastly, I get that your legs should be walked back so you can arch and drive through your legs, but do your heels have to be able to touch the floor?..I find that i’m up on my toes.

thanks guys. Any help provided will be very greatly appreciated.

I’m not an expert on form, but I’ll do my best to answer 3 and 4.

3.) Grip width is completely up to you based on what you feel is your strongest grip and the one that feels most comfortable for you. A lot of times (not always), raw benchers will usually have a somewhat “close” grip. Watch some videos of raw lifters benching like Jim Wendler. Most shirted lifters will go for a grip that is as wide as allowed during meets, both because of the nature of a shirt/path of a shirted bench, and the fact that it cuts down your bench stroke.

4.) Basically whenever people are talking about tucking your feet and arching to bench, they will say “drive your heels into the floor”…what they mean is get your toes into the ground and push forcefully to use your legs to drive the bench and stay tight, but aren’t actually saying that you need to get your heels onto the ground.

1. grip width; what Ty said + a lot of people say that at most your upper arms should be at 45degrees to your body this is to reduce shoulder stress.

2. this will also depend on your fed’s rules, IPF says your feet must be flat on the floor: