T Nation

Question for Those in Health Care

This may be along shot but, since there are a few members in health care (pretty sure Derek is) I am hoping someone may have some insight.

Are there any Physician Assistant schools that do not require clinical experience to be accepted? My younger sister is about to finish here degree in Biology (3.8 GPA 3.6 in sciences) and has recently began looking into a career as a physician assistant. She was planning on becoming a Vet. and so has experience dealing with sick animals and grieving owners but, not with sick people.

I have searched online forums but, most turn into shit storms where no one gives a direct answer. From the searching she has done there is a college in Idaho. There may be more but, it takes a while going one by one through the list of PA programs.

Not a PA, I’m a Family Nurse Practitioner, but I hire PA’s. Never thought to ask that since I went a different route.

What type of clinical experience are they asking for?

How much?

Can she go to anywhere? or she wanting to stay in her own state.

[quote]Derek542 wrote:
Not a PA, I’m a Family Nurse Practitioner, but I hire PA’s. Never thought to ask that since I went a different route.

How much?

Can she go to anywhere? or she wanting to stay in her own state.[/quote]

I would ask a similar question if you would be so kind to take the time to answer. My college roommate’s younger sister is currently in the athletic training program at Texas State University (which has a top-tier Health Professions program) but is looking to go to PA school when she graduates, and is looking to change her major. She wants to stay in the state for her advanced degree. As a professional in the field, which undergraduate degree/clinical experience do you feel would put her in the best position as a potential PA student?

[quote]Legionary wrote:

[quote]Derek542 wrote:

How much?