T Nation

Question For The Military Types

Hey all, I am currently a 3rd year law student, and as such, I have begun seriously thinking about jobs and careers. I am increasingly considering the possibility of the JAG Corps, most likely Air Force, but possibly one of the other branches as well.

My reasons are numerous - most notably, to say the work sounds interesting is understatement. Also, while I like to work hard when I work, I don't like to work all the time - that is, quality of life is highly important to me. Civilian firms are notably lacking in this department. The military on the other hand seems to offer excellent vacation, excellent retirement (should I decide to stay in), reasonable hours, a focus on physical fitness, etc. Further, the money, while not great, is certainly decent when you throw in all the benefits and extras.

Given all this, I'd join in an instant - with one caveat. The moving around thing worries me. I am a little on the introverted side, do NOT make new friends easily, and it takes me a long time to get settled into a place when I move there. The whole moving every three years thing is not to my liking. My questions are chiefly about that:

1) I know it is POSSIBLE you will be moved every 3 years as a member of the armed forces - but if you are stationed at a larger base (say, Langley AFB in Virginia), is it LIKELY? In other words, in practice, how good are they about honoring people's desires to "stay put" (or at least move around a little less often)? I know they'll never make any guarantee - that I am fine with - I'm just talking about actual average practice here.

2) If you are to move, how does it work? Is it "you are going to X" or is it "We no longer need you here, we'd like you to go to , which one would you prefer?" (I live in fear of being sent somewhere like Florida.. I like winter.. :P).