Question for the big boys...

Not that it means much around here, but, I just recently joined the 400lb./4 plate club, having benched 405 3 times, for 2 sets, with a wide grip, clean( i had at least 1 more in the hole, but, I didn’t have a spotter and didn’t want to kill myself.) It seemed to me, as it does in all my maximal effort lifts, that I had more than enough strngth, but, that my joints were going to fail. I felt the lift more so in my elbows, wrists and shoulders than in my pecs and tris. And when I do start to FEEL it, I get more of a lat burn, then upper pec, tris and front delts. I first thought that I didn’t have enough mass in my upper back, but I T-bar row with 4 plates and a 25 and do wide-grip chins and pullups. I’m 6’4", 290lbs but my chest is only 53 inches. I also have a 78inch reach, could that be the reason why I get so little chest involvement when I bench?

The 400lb. club may not mean much around here, but it is impressive to me. I am still a newbie, so I am pretty weak still. Out of the many, many people I see lift at my college rec everyday, I can definitely say I have never seen anyone put up 4 wheels.

I know when I try to lift heavy (for me) I don’t get good involvement either. I lighten the weight and concentrate on the specific muscle. That helps me, but everyone else here can help a lot more.