T Nation

Question for Teachers

What do you like about your profession? What is it about your profession that might make you wish you hadn’t gone into teaching? And lastly, what advice would you give to someone looking to go back to school and enter the field?

I’ve been a Firefighter for fifteen years now, and I’m starting to plan ahead for what I’d like to do next. Being a firefighter is great, and I love the job, but I don’t want to do it forever and I’m not interested in jumping off of a truck past the age of 50 or 55 at the latest. What I did learn in the fire service though, is that I love to teach. I’ve taught both lectures and practicals at our fire academy each year, as well as teaching fire safety and prevention in the schools to elementary kids.

I’m 37 years old, and I just enrolled at my local community college to get the ball rolling. Any advice from people already in the profession would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

I teach high school history. I love it. The pay isn’t great and the job security isn’t great either. But I make a difference and when I go to work each day I know I’m having a positive impact on people’s lives and I’m contributing to the next generation of Americans that this country is either going to sink or swim with.

One thing you have to understand as a teacher is that your ultimate responsibility is not to the school administrators or the state or even the students’ parents. It’s to the students themselves, so you really need to be dedicated to empowering youths through education to get any real satisfaction out of it.

Is it the ‘teaching’ you like, or working with kids? If it’s just teaching, maybe you could go into corporate training. Teaching classes to adults that want to learn is a lot more fun/easier than to kids that think you’re a tool.

You could possibly even use your firefighting knowledge and skills to teach others that…I’m not sure…just brainstorming here, but you could teach CPR to group classes, etc…